Topic: You Can't Fix Stupid

Hello, Whip Basics.

Most who know me well know that I try not to be overly critical of others, especially when I have so much to learn myself. I'm no expert, certainly, and I don't miss an opportunity to point that out. Well...here are a couple of young adults who are also no experts:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cVpr9ufcMOI

I couldn't finish the video. Not only have they done absolutely zero research into proper technique, but they're also making a big joke out of being accidentally struck with a potentially dangerous instrument. I wonder how much they'd laugh if one of them were popped in the eye by a rebounding thong.

To make matters worse, this is apparently a duo who are trying to follow in the footsteps of Mythbusters, by "testing" whether certain things are true. The method is nothing close to scientific, and their apparent willingness to simply jump in and start swinging things around makes me nervous to say the least.

The reason I post this here is that there are more people like this out there. People who don't know better, and probably should. If they were such big fans of Indiana Jones, then shouldn't they remember that Indy never flailed like that with his whip? Oh, that's right: Harrison Ford actually trained for that role.

Point is, folks will see that video. They might not assume that this is proper technique, but it certainly isn't helping. At best, it's teaching people to take whips lightly. At worst, it's spreading misinformation which can get somebody hurt.

I know it's three years old, and hasn't gotten many views, but it's still frustrating to me that stuff like that is floating around out there.

Re: You Can't Fix Stupid

Oh... This video. Yeah, I've seen that, and it took all I had not to scream at the people how they should take just a week or two to train themselves before going live with their experiment. They're just hurting the whip -- and also themselves -- with that stuff.